Tags

, , , , , , ,

John le Carré is best known for his disturbing and hunting spy thrillers, for its insights and exciting twist that propelled him in the company of foremost English authors.  Although this one can’t be categorize as one of Mr. le Carré’s thrillers, this one still contains his exciting narratives and insightful prose that makes it readable. When I’m on the verge of convincing myself that the novel gets boring and just my respect for the author makes me read this thick novel, then I get interested again on what will happen.

The novel describes about the agony of Aldo Cassidy; a man caught between choices, between two sides of his paradoxical nature, his triumph and pain and how he enjoys his life by enjoying others company. How he assesses himself of the choices he makes about his family and its effects and how he becomes the naïve and sentimental lover. Most readers I guess would find this particular title boring.  But in the weeks I’ve spend my hours on reading this one, I got to experienced living an extravagant life of a middle-aged man that I am sure I will never lived. The ending is a bit of moving that I suspect the protagonist suffers from being an unreliable narrator. Well, for a novel to make you think like that makes it just more captivating. I’m ready for more of his thrillers.

 

