Tags

, , , , , ,

As a lover of stories in short form, I try to read every short stories especially the ones who have great acclaims, high praises and of course; awards (I don’t have to mention for it to be melancholic). The Magic Barrel consists of thirteen short-stories which do have different themes but does have a common human relationship to it; longing. For there were always two characters that depend and seek assistance from the other. Most of the stories involve inquiry that ends up for personal interest. Honestly, half of the first stories make me stopped from reading not that I find them boring but their every ending leaves me in confusion asking myself if the conclusion was an open-ended one or I just don’t get it. But I’m glad to finish the book for the last few stories caught my respect for the author. The stories start to affect me like sometimes it makes me regret for what was happened or if I can do anything for the characters I would gladly lend a helping hand.

This short-story collection won the National Book Award for fiction, although I really don’t have the right to question for its winning, I was able to glimpse the qualifications that made the book a winner.

Quotable Dialogue:

“Salzman,” he said, “love has at last come to my heart.”

“Who can love from a picture?” mocked the marriage broker.

“It is not impossible.”

“If you can love her, then you can love anybody.”

