Tags

, , , , , ,

 

Before I plunged myself into reading classic fictions – which I was really avoiding at first for fear of spending my time on something thick and just to absorb nothing in the end- I try to look if the title is an entry to the 1001 must read list. If not, at least may be it from my favorite classic author.

The Metamorphosis is about Gregor Samsa whom woke up one morning from an unsettling dream and found himself changed in his bed into a monstrous vermin. The protagonist who transformed overnight into a giant beetlelike insect becomes an object of disgrace to his family, an outsider in his own home a quintessentially alienated man. Gregor Samsa narrates his life as he struggles to live and adapt with his new body in the narrow four-corners of his room. How to work-out those freakish legs, to eat, to get out of bed, to walk (on the ceiling), to eat (food or garbage that makes his stomach turn when he was still normal) and how to explain his side using his new language. Hailed by critics and has taken place as one of the most widely read and influential work of twentieth-century fiction.

Although the story has a lot of interpretations, I would try to share mine. I guess Mr. Kafka shows the sense of being alone in a world against you and the feeling of being alienated in a society you once belong. The novel makes me also think about the feeling of being not able to understand by people around you, that no matter how you explain yourself, you’ll just end up being misunderstood. For silence cause any interpretations and to brag springs more arguments. A couple of pages before I finish the book, I have the sense of the protagonist to wake up from a bad dream (I guess it is not a spoiler, bear with me, everyone will think of it too) but rather, it has an ending that does make you think.

I guess The Metamorphosis will stay as one of my favorite classics, not for its length but for its impact. Reading this one has the capability to make you understand why a particular title is considered a classic. I hope I was able to persuade readers to try reading classics too, I promise they don’t bite.

