Tags

, , , ,

 

The Best Laid Plans tells about Oliver Russell, a young attorney and a promising gubernatorial candidate, hHis meetings for his public-relations campaign and his mating with different ladies. The beautiful and intelligent Leslie Stewart runs his campaign and just as they are about to be wed, Russell then refuse to ties the knot. For his mentor, the Senator Todd Davis offers him something which he can’t refuse; to marry his daughter and the promise of making him the president. This result to Stewart’s plotting of revenge to her fallen-out romance. With the idea of Russell’s uncontrollable libido to desire women, gives the more opportunity for Stewart to bring Russell to his very grief.

I’ve heard about Sidney Sheldon’s readability and his page-turner novels long before I summon myself to read him. I have to admit that it was such an easy read for his prose are written in plain English but it is constructed in a flowing manner that makes you read a couple of pages in one good sweep. Before I reached the end, I already have the idea that of all his works this is definitely not his best -not that I don’t enjoyed it- but it could have been more enjoyable in my opinion if the characters are far deeper and well-developed. I also like the idea of the author interjecting some sort of short-stories to keep the readers attention, it also gives me the idea that maybe I am able to glimpse at the real protagonist for the first time.

The Best Laid Plans is a light-read and doesn’t require much attention and concentration so you can continue reading while thinking of something thereafter without missing any major revelations. I’m positive that this is not his best book, but it is just enough to convince me to try Sheldon again. The book is packed with full of surprises and twist that keeps readers riveted, and I’m hoping to see more of them when I try his other titles.

Opening Sentence: The first entry in Leslie Stewart’s diary read: Dear Diary, This morning I met the man I am going to marry.

Ending Sentence:  I choose not to reveal the last sentences for fear of spoiling readers.

