Tags

, , , , ,

Hmm, I wasn’t really sure if I would make this review to bash or praise the novel lest I also don’t care if what would I say may influence readers in reading or giving up Twilight since it has established an authority (I have to admit that). Twilight, (as if a reader doesn’t have an idea what’s it all about) tells the story of a 17-year old Bella who leaves Phoenix to live with her father in Forks. Then, she suddenly meets an exquisitely handsome boy at school for whom she feels an uncontrollable attraction and then comes to realize that he’s not entirely human.

Honestly, I was really annoyed at how Bella narrates the story, on how rude she is, narcissistic and self-centered. And the worst part of it is that she doesn’t have an idea that she is. Then the ever perfect Edward who shows up and continues to confuse the reader every time he’s within Bella’s reach. Most parts of the story consist of Bella and Edward praising each other.  ‘Oh, yeah you’re beautiful! And so are you.’ Though I just make up that line, the reader is bound to suffer to a lengthy narcissism’s that I guess isn’t really necessary. Has the author just reminds us that Edward is perfect?

Come what may, I wouldn’t dare finish reading this one if I haven’t seen something interesting and things which continuously grabs my attention. I salute the author for her endearing characters and her own engaging world of vampires that I remember I had search over the internet for the mentioning of a Filipino Vampire which I really don’t have an idea it exist.

As the author states in one of her interviews, each of the series in the Twilight Saga is influenced by literary classics. And with this comes to my mind that Bella’s character, though will predictably suffers criticisms for her actions – is an original. I really have to consider this one before making conclusions but Bella’s reason need to be loved -though unknown to her- (not just originally sprang from her undying attraction to Edward) has deeper roots. She came from a broken family right? And what I also like about this is Edward’s awareness that Bella’s getting overboard and selfish and has to be reminded that she is.

I’ll admit that I cringe most of its part for its utter cheesiness but Bella win’s me with her honesty. I guess the author illustrates human beings who’s weak on choices but is determined to do what she likes, whatever it takes, whatever its consequences. Yes, it’s a bit selfish, but some can understand.

There’s nothing special in Meyer’s prose and it’s just the content that drives one to read more. The novel is adapted to screen in 2008 gaining more popularity. And with the adaptation (with the automatic changes and additions), it just attracts criticisms for one can now compare and despise what they see. Do I have to tell you to read this one?

