Tags

, , , ,

I never had an idea that this author wrote the phenomenal Rosemary’s Baby but just read this particular novel with curious eyes. I guess I was caught by the plot written at the back of my copy and nothing more. I wouldn’t dare say I was deceived. The novel’s main theme is about voyeurism and the selfishness of the human heart to know more than what is just morally enough.

I would honestly admit that Levin’s writing here are hard to decipher, was it because he’s writing about art-deco and if you’re not that familiar about it will found nothing but just create based on what you know? I guess this part is more relevant since the novel is published in the 90’s and these are the crazies at the time which is understandable that the author includes such that makes this one exceptional (maybe at the time of its publication). But the storyline is a bit uneventful and I’m really hoping for something to happen until I reached the end (which is a long way to go through) but just find myself very disappointed. It’s as if there’s no remorse with the main character and looks as if she just plays a part and have to let go once the curtain closes.

I don’t believe the cliché’ that some author’s lost their strength obvious in their latest effort, but with his early works makes you forget this disappointment, for they are so good and that is what I’ll recommend.

Unfortunately, I couldn’t let you read the Opening and the Ending sentence’s for I gave it away to a dear friend. I hope she likes it. Sigh.

The novel is adapted to screen in 1993 with the same title.

