Tags

, , , ,

 

Before I start my review, I will honestly admit that I am really a fan of the romantic genre of novels. But then at times I tried to scrutinize a title if it’s worth reading before I immersed myself on to it. So it goes that The Bridges of Madison County is dubbed as one of the best love story that convinced me to give this one a try.

It is the story of Robert Kincaid, a 52 year-old National Geographic photographer, and Francesca Johnson, a 45 year-old farm wife. Each of them is contented with their lives yet when Kincaid drives through the heat and dust one summer into Francesca farm lane looking for directions, they are connected in something unutterable and found themselves joined in an experience that will change their lives.

Not all of us will agree on Francesca’s actions to entertain Robert while her husband is away. For one can say that her affection is just purely based on loneliness. Francesca states too that Richard (her husband) is occasionally interested in sex, it’s not to point out the heroines’ vulnerability but it makes you think that Robert’s presence is an option or a distraction for her to entertain the man. Having said negatives about Francesca’s acceptance of Robert, a positive side I like about the heroine is her constant refusal for Kincaid’s offer to go with him which makes the story a bit heart-breaking and moving.

One more thing I liked about the novel is the author’s capability to place you to his surroundings; he clearly illustrates his environment which added the melancholic feel of the story. And the photo inserts in every chapter helps a lot in supplying the reader’s imagination. Basically, this is just a simple love story but with its premise makes this one somehow unforgettable.

The novel was made into a movie in 1995 starring Clint Eastwood and Meryl Streep.

 

Opening Sentence: There are songs that come free from the blue-eyed grass, from the dust of a thousand country roads.

Ending Sentence: I just stand here, about twilight, makin’ that ol’ horn weep, and I play that tune for a man named Robert Kincaid and a woman he called Francesca.

